Golf & Assam

Golf in the tea estates became organised after the Jorhat Gymkhana Club, established in 1876, became a recreational hub for the planters of central Assam. From 1902, planters from across the province got together for competitive golf at the nine-hole Gymkhana course. There were at least seven championships such as the Beg Dunlop Cup that weighed 2.5 kg, Craig Cup, Lamprell Cut, Rustom Cup and the Flying Dutchman trophy that was sponsored by KLM Royal Dutch Airlines.

Assam has approximately 25 golf courses in different teas districts including a couple of 18-hole courses. A new golf course in Amingaon (Railways) is being developed and it is our duty as old golfers to promote the sport in the entire North East India.

Golf courses in Assam


  • Army Dinjan Greens Golf Course
  • Dibrugarh District & Planters Club
  • Eastern Bastion Golf Club Chabua
  • Mohanbari Airport Golf Course
  • Moran Polo Club - Thowrah Tea Estate Golf Course
  • Naharkatia Planters Club Golf Course
  • Zaloni Golf Club


  • Bishnauth Gymkhana Club
  • Borsola Gymkhana Club
  • East Boroi Club
  • Thakurbari Club
  • Solmara Golf Course  


  • Digboi Golf Club
  • Doomdooma Golf Club
  • Margherita Golf Club
  • Tingri Golf Club


  • Dhunseri Polo & Golf Club


  • Jorhat Gymkhana Golf Club
  • Kaziranga Golf Resort


  • Ligripukhuri Golf Club
  • Seleng District Club
  • Sonari Gymkhana Club


  • Mangaldai Polo Gymkhana Club


  • Misa Polo Club Golf Course  


  • North Lakhimpur Planters Club


  • Rhino Golf Club